

# IMPORTING HEALTHY ANIMALS For Healthy People and Communities

In order to prevent the spread of animal diseases across state lines and protect Minnesota's pet and human populations, the Minnesota Board of Animal Health (BAH) has requirements for dogs, cats and ferrets imported from other states.

All dogs, cats and ferrets must be accompanied by a **Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI).** 

The CVI:

- Is issued by a licensed and accredited veterinarian in the **state of origin.** The veterinarian is responsible for sending copies to their state animal health agency, keeping a copy for their records, and sending a copy with the shipment.
- Lists the description of each animal in the shipment including: species, breed, age, sex and identification (i.e. microchip number).
- Verifies that all animals in the shipment have been examined by a veterinarian within the past 30 days.
- Verifies that any dog, cat or ferret three months of age or older is currently vaccinated for rabies and lists the name of the vaccine and date administered.
- States that the animals described are **not showing clinical signs of infectious, contagious, or communicable disease.**



# IMPORTATION STEPS

Examination by a veterinarian



# **Rabies Vaccination**



Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI)



**Healthy Animals and People** 



# IMPORTATION OF DOGS AND CATS Frequently Asked Questions

## What is a CVI?

A certificate of veterinary inspection, or CVI, is a form completed by a veterinarian **accredited** in the state of origin to verify that they have examined an animal prior to movement and attested that the animal is **not showing clinical signs of infectious, contagious, or communicable disease** and that the animal meets all state and federal movement requirements. It may also be referred to as a health certificate and is available in both paper and electronic formats.

### Can any veterinarian complete the CVI?

The veterinarian must be licensed and accredited in the state where the animal is moving from. Accreditation is a credential granted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture that allows veterinarians to perform official regulatory work, such as signing CVIs.

### What information does the CVI contain?

- Consigner's (owner or seller) name and physical address.
- Consignee's (buyer or adopter) name and physical address.
- Animal description and/or identification number.
- Date vaccines administered and product name.
- Date and results of any required tests.
- Statement of health based on physical examination.
- Veterinarian's signature, name and contact information.
- Any additional information required by the state of destination.

### Can one CVI be used for movement of an animal to multiple states?

A CVI is only valid for movement from the origin address to the destination address written on the CVI. All animals entering Minnesota must have a Minnesota address listed in the destination field.

#### How long is the CVI valid after the veterinarian examines the animal?

The CVI is valid for 30 days after examination, and the veterinarian must complete the CVI within 10 days of examining an animal.

#### Do all dogs, cats and ferrets coming to Minnesota require a CVI?

Dogs, cats, or ferrets temporarily entering the state if there is no change of ownership and the animal will be leaving the state within 30 days do not require a CVI.

#### Where do I get a CVI?

Schedule an appointment with your local accredited veterinarian.

#### Can I complete the CVI and just have my veterinarian sign it?

The veterinarian is responsible for examining all animals on the CVI and ensuring the form is completed accurately. Failure to do so could compromise the veterinarian's accreditation and license. In Minnesota, only accredited veterinarians have access to CVIs.

#### What tests and vaccinations are required to get a CVI?

All dogs, cats and ferrets three months of age and older require documentation of rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian in accordance with manufacturer recommendations prior to being moved to Minnesota. Each state may have unique requirements for importation and requirements may change at any time. Contact the state of destination for the most up to date information.

#### What happens if I import an animal without a CVI?

Violation of Minnesota's import requirements is illegal. Failure to comply may result in fines or penalties according to Minnesota Rule 1721.0500.

#### Where can I get more information?

- Call: 651-201-6824
- Visit our website: https://www.mn.gov/bah
- Email: <u>pet.travel.bah@state.mn.us</u>